USGS - science for a changing world

Water Science for Maryland, Delaware and the District of Columbia

Home About Us Science Strategy

USGS Science Strategy

The states of Maryland and Delaware and the District of Columbia form an organizational unit in the Water Resources Discipline of the USGS. The headquarters of the MD-DE-DC Water Science Center is in Baltimore, MD, with a Subdistrict Office in Dover, DE, and Field Offices in LaVale, MD, and Annapolis, MD.

The District has about 95 federal employees and several contract employees. Approximately 50 of the federal employees are hydrologists or other science series employees. The other federal employees include hydrologic technicians, computer and database support staff, geographers, and administrative staff.

The Biological Resources Discipline's Patuxent Wildlife Research Center, near Laurel, MD, is within the geographic boundaries of the District. The District is also close to the BRD Science Center in Leetown, WV, and to the many regional and national program functions of all USGS disciplines at the USGS National Center in Reston, VA.

For more information about the USGS Science Strategy, please see these links:

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

Take Pride in America logo logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
Page Contact Information:
Page Last Modified: Friday, October 24, 2014